Applications for 2018 beam time can now be submitted via the EMBL user portal. The submission deadline is at midnight on Friday 12th January 2018.

EMBL Hamburg operates two beamlines for macromolecular X-ray crystallography, P13 and P14, at the PETRA III storage ring at DESY (Hamburg, Germany) coordinated by Thomas R. Schneider. At present we are constructing a second endstation (in collaboration with Prof. Arwen Pearson, funded by the BMBF) on P14 to enable time-resolved crystallographic studies.

Appyling for beamtime

Access to the EMBL Hamburg beamlines is available to all research groups, and is prioritised on scientific grounds only. Project proposals for beamline access are evaluated by the Project Evaluation Committee. Users are invited to apply for beamline access by submitting a proposal to the EMBL Hamburg submission system SMIS.